Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Outreach


The Bylaws detail the areas on which DEO members focus, specifically:

  • University-wide programs for the recruitment and retention of faculty, staff, and students.
  • advice to University administration (subject to approval of the President) regarding prohibited discrimination, equal opportunity, outreach, and related matters.
  • other advisement as requested (for example: to Enrollment Services, student organizations, Departments and Schools, the Office of Employee Relations and Compliance, etc.).

DEO has a membership of 21:

  • Ex-officio members (nine)
      • Provost or designee
      • Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/Enrollment or designee
      • Director of the Office of Employee Relations and Compliance
      • Chief Diversity Officer
      • Chair of the Senate or designee
      • Vice President for Student Affairs or designee
      • Associate Vice President Academic Affairs/Academic Engagement and Student Achievement or designee
      • Director of the Center for Human Resources or designee
      • Director of Student Ability Success Center or designee
  • Appointed members (12)
    • nine faculty (one of whom must be an elected Senator)--with each of the seven Colleges, the Library, and the SDSU-IV Campus represented; one of the nine shall serve as Chair
    • two students (one of whom must represent Associated Students)
    • one staff.

AY 2018/19 DEO Roster

Academic Unit (or Ex Officio position) Name
Term Ends Appt Date Department
Assistant Vice President for AA/ Director of Enrollment Srvs
(or designee)
Cook, Sandra (designee) ENROLLMENT SRVCS
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs-Student Acheivement Abbott, Janet (designee) DAESA
Director - Center for Human Reources
(or designee)
Bendinelli, Heather     HR
Chief Diversity Officer Wood, J. Luke AVP DI
Director of Office of Employee Relations and Compliance Harpole, Thom EMPLOYEE RELATIONS AND COMPLIANCE
Faculty – A&L Hernandez, Roberto May-21 Sep-18 CHICANA/O STUDIES
Faculty – BUS Chung, Beth (Chair)* May-21 May-09 MGT
Faculty – EDU Butler-Byrd, Nola May-20 May-09 CSP
Faculty – ENG Alves, Thais May-21 Sep-18 CCE
Faculty – HHS Kressler, Jochen* May-20 Sep-17 ENS
Faculty – PFSA Dykstra-Devette, Tiffany May-21 Sep-18 COMM
Faculty – SCI Vaughn, Allison* May-20  Jan-18 PSY
Faculty – IV Camargo, Esperanza May-20 Aug-17 IV
Faculty – LIA Rhodes, Gloria May-20 Sep-11 LIA
Staff Stewart, Rachael May-19 Jun-16 Ed Lead Coordinator
Provost (or designee) Brooks, Joanna AVP FA
Senate Chair (or designee) Reinholz, Randy* May-19 Oct-17 TTF
Vice President - Academic Affairs (or designee) Marbray, Antionette AVP-SA
Director of Student Disability and Services Starr, Pam __ __ SDS
Student Estrada, Stephanie May-19   AS
Student       AS

DEO convenes on Thursdays.  AY 2018/19 dates are listed below.

Fall 2018
Thursday, September 6
Thursday, October 4
Thursday, November 1
Thursday, December 6
Spring 2019


Meetings are held in SSW 2640, from 1:00-2:30pm

Upload committee agendas and minutes in this section.





Upload submitted reports to the Senate and record them in this section.