Liberal Studies Committee


The UNIVERSITY POLICIES: Committees and Councils section of the Policy File details the areas on which Committee members focus - specifically:

  • development of policy, program, and curricular proposals.
  • review of other policy and curriculum proposals that affect the Liberal Studies program.

The Committee holds primary responsibility for recommending policy and program changes, and may request the assistance of external specialists.

This Committee has a membership of 10:

  • Four faculty who have taught in the Liberal Studies program - one each from English and speech, mathematics and natural sciences, fine arts and humanities, and social and behavioral sciences
  • Coordinator of Liberal Studies, who shall serve as Chair
  • Dean of the College of Education
  • Director of the School of Teacher Education
  • Chair of Dual Language and English Learner Education
  • Director of the University Advising Center
  • One student (majoring in Liberal Studies)

Roster / AY 2018-19

Major Academic Unit
(or Ex Officio Position)
Name Term Ends Appt. Date Department Senator
Chair and Coordinator of Liberal Studies Loh-Hagan, Virginia (Chair) COE  
Faculty – Liberal Studies within Fine Arts and Humanities Koner, Karen 21-May 18-Sep MUSIC  
Faculty – Liberal Studies within English and Speech Samraj, Betty 20-May 5-May LING/LANG  
Faculty – Liberal Studies within Mathematics and Natural Sciences Nickerson, Susan 20-May 8-Oct MATH/STAT  
Faculty – Liberal Studies within Social and Behavioral Sciences DeVos, Paula 21-May 18-Aug HISTORY  
Faculty - IV Bodus, Stacy 20-May 16-Aug IV  
Dean College of Education (formerly Assoc VP for Acad Affairs) Chung, Barry COE  
Director of School of Teacher Education Bercaw, Lynne STE  
Chair of Dual Language and English Learner Education Macado-Casas, Margarita DLE  
Director of the University Advising Center Xiong, Michelle - LS Advisor DAESA  
Liberal Studies Major
Hernandez, Daniela 19-May 18-Sep LS