Hepner Hall

The Constitution details membership composition of the Senate and its Executive Committee. It also speaks to SDSU's membership in the Academic Senate of the California State Univesrity.

The term University Senate signifies a diverse membership base. Elected members include:

      • Professors, who are apportioned annually; tenured and tenure-track faculty in each major academic unit (the seven Colleges on the San Diego campus, plus the Imperial Valley campus) elect the number of Senators equivalent to 8% of the tenured/tenure-track full-time equivalent faculty positions (FTEF) assigned to that unit. This method of appointment always yields at least one Senator for each major academic unit.
      • Lecturers, (four); the electorate consists of all lecturers.
      • Coaches (one); the electorate consists of all coaches.
      • Staff (four, non-Management Personnel Plan [MPP]); the electorate consists of all permanent and temporary non-MPP staff, including probationary staff. One staff Senator position is reserved for an SDSU-IV Campus staff member.
      • Managers (one, Management Personnel Plan [MPP], Classes 1 and 2); the electorate consists of all MPP staff, Classes 1 and 2.

Ex-officio members include:

      • The President of the University or designee, Provost, Vice President for Research/Dean of Graduate Affairs, Vice President for Student Affairs, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/Academic Engagement and Student Achievement, and Dean of the College of Extended Studies.
      • Four students chosen by Associated Students - one of the four must be a graduate student chosen in consultation with the Dean of Graduate Affairs.
      • The president or designee of the University's chapter of the faculty unit's collective bargaining unit. 
      • A professor emeritus chosen by the San Diego State University Retirement Association.

Ex-officio members of the Senate have full voting rights, with the exception of the president of the faculty unit's collective bargaining unit. However, they are prohibited from voting in the election of Senate Officers or in elections for the Executive Committee.

The Senate Executive Committee (SEC) considers all matters within the purview of the Senate. Practically speaking, it is charged with formulating recommendations and opinions on Senate matters and then reporting them directly to the Senate or referring them to one or more Standing Committees for further review.

The SEC acts for the Senate on all matters that call for immediate action or consultation; however, any such action a) requires an absolute two-thirds majority vote of the entire membership and b) must then be reported to the Senate as a specific agenda item at its next meeting.

The Senate Executive Committee has a membership of 20: 17 ex-officio members and three elected members.

Ex-officio members include:

  • the Chair of the University Senate, who serves as Chair of the Executive Committee (one of the eight Standing Committees)
  • the Senate Vice Chair
  • the Senate Secretary, who serves as Secretary of the Executive Committee
  • the Chairs of the remaining seven standing committees: Academic Policy and Planning (AP&P); Academic Resources and Planning (AR&P); Faculty Affairs (FA); Committees and Elections (CCE); Constitution and Bylaws (CBL); Undergraduate Curriculum (UC); and Diversity, Equity, and Outreach (DEO)
  • a CSU Academic Senator chosen from and by the three CSU Academic Senators
  • the Provost
  • the Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/Academic Engagement and Student Achievement
  • the Dean of Graduate Affairs
  • the President of Associated Students or designee
  • a staff Senator chosen from and by the four staff Senators
  • the President of the University's chapter of the faculty unit's collective bargaining unit (non-voting)

The three elected members must be faculty Senators elected from and by the elected members of the Senate, with no more than one from a College or equivalent academic unit (the Library, for example). This election is held at the final meeting of the academic year (May). 

The Academic Senate of the California State University (ASCSU) features a membership of 53 faculty elected by their colleagues at the 23 campuses within the system.

Details about the ASCSU's mission and Senators' roles/responsibilities are available at:

Following are the ASCSU Senators serving in the 2017-18 academic year:

Nola Butler Byrd
Professor and Director / Community-based Block (CBB) Program
Counseling and School Psychology
College of Education

Cezar Ornatowski
Professor / Rhetoric and Writing Studies
College of Arts and Letters
Associate faculty / Master of Science Program in Homeland Security
College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts 

Eniko Csomay
Professor / Linguistics and Asian/Middle Eastern Languages
College of Arts and Letters

Membership in the ASCSU is staggered, to ensure continuity from one academic year to the next. This election is held in the Spring semester, ahead of balloting for University Seante members.