Senate Excellence in Teaching Award


Dr. Christopher Harrison
                 Portrait of Dr. Christopher Harrison



    AY2020-21 Senate Distiniguished Professor

                 Dr. Christopher Harrison
(Bioanalytical Chemistry/College of Sciences)
"Using technology to facilitate the transition from lectures to active learning."
            Award ceremony speech: Recording
                    SDSU Faculty: Dr. Harrison
                      Laboratory: Harrison Lab
                         Youtube: crharrison


The Senate's Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes an SDSU faculty member for contributions made to students, respective academic disciplines, and the campus communities. The primary criterion of this award is teaching excellence. The awardee receives the title Senate Distinguished Professor and a stipend. Qualified nominees may be tenured, tenure-track (probationary), or FERP.



Below is a list of award recipients since 2006

Recipient Year Awarded
Christopher Harrison (Chemistry and Biochemistry) 2021
Audrey Hokoda (Child and Family Development) 2019
Eve Kornfeld (History) 2018
John Elder (Public Health) 2017
Matt Anderson (Physics) 2015
Jennifer Imazeki (Economics)   2014
Elizabeth Pollard (History) 2013
Julio Valdes (Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering) 2011
Rebecca Moore (Religious Studies) 2010
Brian Spitzberg (Communication) 2009
Paul Gilbert (Psychology) 2008
Garry Girty (Geology) 2006