Environment and Safety Committee


The UNIVERSITY POLICIES: Committees and Councils section of the Policy File details the areas in which Committee members focus - specifically:

  • policies and procedures on the health, safety, and learning conditions of the campus environment (to include: sidewalks, walkways, and pedestrian malls; classrooms, laboratories, and work areas); and restrooms, stairwells, elevators, and hallways).
  • investigation of such problems/issues as health, hazardous materials and waste, safety, emergency preparedness, excessive noise or traffic, and other matters that detrimentally affect the campus environment.

This Committee has a membership of 13:

  • five faculty - one of whom serves as Chair and one an elected Senator
  • two staff
  • Vice President for Business and Financial Affairs or Director of Administrative Services
  • Director of Health Services or designee
  • Directors of Physical Plant or designee
  • one member of the local Unit 3 collective bargaining agency
  • two students

Roster / AY 2019-20

Major Academic Unit
(or Ex Officio Position)
Name Term Ends Appt. Date Department
Faculty – Open Seshagiri, Sridhar (Chair) 20-May 12-Feb COMPE, EE
Faculty – Open  Orosz, Jerome* 22-May 18-Feb  ASTRON
Faculty – Open Fuller, Amanda*
(finishing term for Barker)
20-May 17-Sep COMP SCH
Faculty – Open Khoo, Aurorae 20-May 17-Dec ThTVFilm
Faculty – Open Werry, Chris 20-May 17-Dec RWS
Member of Local Unit 3 Collective Bargaining Agency Toombs, Charles 22-May 18-Feb AFR St.
Staff Rehfuss, Todd 22-May 13-Nov AP
Staff Gagne, Lynn 20-May 14-Nov SDS
Vice President for Business and Financial Affairs
(or designee) Director of Administrative Services
Nancy Demich, (designee) BUSINESS & FINANCE
Director of Health Services (or designee) S/B: Pamela Starr  
Director of Physical Plant (or designee) S/B: John Ferris BUSINESS & FINANCE
Student AS
Student     AS

Generally meets 1st Tuesday of the month in E101D (basement) from 10:00-11:00 am.

AY 2019/20 Meeting Dates:

Upload committee agendas and minutes in this section.





Upload submitted reports to the Senate and record them in this section.