Committee on Faculty Affairs


The Bylaws detail the areas on which Faculty Affairs members focus (in conformance with the Unit 3 faculty Collective Bargaining Agreement [CBA]), specifically:

  • policies concerning the selection and evaluation of academic tenure, promotions, sabbaticals, academic privilege, and separation from the University.
  • advice to the President on staff issues and the selection of administrative personnel.


Faculty Affairs has a membership of Thirteen:

  • Ex-officio Non-Voting (3)
    • Associate Vice President for Faculty Advancement and Student Success
    • Associate Vicer President for Faculty and Staff/Chief Diversity Officer- or Designee
    • Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning
  • Appointed members (10)
    •  9 full-time faculty one each from the colleges, the Library and SDSU Imperial Valley; two of whom must be elected Senators; 1 non-tenure-track lecturer or coach;

AY 2020/21 FA Roster

Academic Unit (or Ex Officio position) Name (*Senator) Term Ends Appt Date Department
Faculty (SCI) Gontz, Allen* May-22 Sep-19 GEOL
Faculty  (FBUS) Tang, Ning*
May-23 Sept-20 FIN
Faculty (EDU) Polanco, Marcela (completing term for Tran) May-22 Aug-16 CSP

Faculty (PSFA)

Sasidharan, Vinod* May-23 Sept-20 HTM
Faculty (CAL) Field, Margaret May-21 May-15 AMIND
Faculty (ENG) Sharma, Satish* May-23 Sept-20 EE
Faculty (Library) Jeffery, Keven May-23 Sept-20 LIB
Faculty (SDSU Imperial Valley)  
Lecturer or Coach Faculty Crawford, Carin* May-23 Sept-20 Coach
Associate Vice President for Faculty Affairs and Student Success
(or designee)(non-voting)
Brooks, Joanna* OFASS
CDO/Associate Vice President for Faculty and Staff  (or designee) (non-voting) Imazeki, Jennifer _ _ SA+CD
Director, Center for Teaching and Learning or designee (non-voting) Elkind, Sarah

FA convenes on the first Friday of the month, 1:00-2:30pm

Upload committee agendas and minutes in this section.