Honorary Degrees Advisory Committee


The Committee is charged with review and recommendation of nominations for honorary degrees forwarded from the President's Office (initially received from the campus community and the Chancellor's Office). Specifics of the Committee's charge are detailed in the UNIVERSITY POLICIES: Committees and Councils section of the Policy File.

This Committee has a membership of 9:

  • Provost, who shall serve as Chair
  • Vice President for Research/Dean of Graduate Affairs
  • Vice President for University Advancement
  • Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/Academic Engagement and Student Achievement
  • Chair, Vice Chair and immediate past Chair of the Senate
  • President of the SDSU Alumni Association
  • President of Associated Students

Roster / AY 2019-20

Major Academic Unit
(or Ex Officio Position)
Name (*Senator) Department
Provost (Chair) Ochoa, Salvador Hector AA
Vice President for Research/
Dean of Division of Graduate and Research Affairs
Welter, Stephen G&RA
Interim Vice President for
University Relations and Development
Carleton, Mary Ruth UR&D
AVP Student Achievement Shultz, Norah DUS
Senate Chair Wheeler, Mark* PHIL
Senate Vice Chair Butler-Byrd, Nola* CSP
Parliamentarian Eadie, William JMS
President of the SDSU Alumni Association Morales, Leo  
President, Associated Students Onwuka, Christian AS