Senate Officers

Senate Officers are elected annually, and include the following:

  • Chair, who also serves as Chair of the Faculty. The Senate Chair must be an elected Senator;
  • Vice Chair, who also must be a faculty member and an elected Senator;
  • Secretary, who must be an elected Senator; and
  • Parliamentarian, who is appointed annually but need not be a member of the Senate.

Senate Officer elections are held in the Spring semester, following the general membership election; below are the Officers for the AY 2019-20.

Senate Chair
Mark R. Wheeler
Professor of Philosophy
Chair, SDSU Faculty
Chair, SDSU Department of Philosophy
Director, SDSU Institute for Ethics and Public Affairs
Department of Philosophy / College of Arts and Letters

Senate Vice Chair
Nola Butler-Byrd
Associate Professor of Counseling and School Psychology
Director, Community-Based Block Multicultural Counseling & Social Justice Education Program
Senator, Academic Senate of the California State University
Department of Education / College of Education

Senate Secretary
Cyndi Chie
Analyst/Programmer - Lead
Enrollment Services IT
Part-Time Lecturer
Department of Computer Science / College of Sciences

Senate Parliamentarian
William Eadie
Professor Emeritus
School of Journalism and Media Studies
/ College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts