Undergraduate Council


The UNIVERSITY POLICIES: Committees and Councils section of the Policy File details the areas on which Council members focus - specifically:

  • oversight of an integrated approach to undergraduate excellence at SDSU.
  • recommendation of new policy for the Division of Academic Engagement and Student Achievement as well as changes to existing policy.
  • Supervision of specific University-wide undergraduate programs such as, but not limited to, the Undergraduate Writing and Graduation and Retention Subcommittees.

This Council has a membership of 16:

  • nine faculty, one from each of the seven Colleges, the Library, and the SDSU-IV Campus
  • Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/Academic Engagement and Student Achievement, who shall serve as Chair
  • Associate and Assistant Deans of Undergraduate Studies
  • Vice President of Student Affairs or designee
  • Director of Enrollment Services
  • two students (undergraduate)

Roster / AY 2018-19

Major Academic Unit (or Ex Officio Position) Name Term Ends Appt. Date Department  
AVP Student Achievement Shultz, Norah (Chair) DAESA  
Faculty – BUS Grudnitski, Gary 20-May 14-Oct ACCTG  
Faculty – A&L Valentine, Kathryn 19-May 16-Mar RWS  
Faculty – EDU Luke Duesberry 19-May 17-Mar ARPE  
Faculty – ENG Nagaraj, Santosh 20-May 17-Nov EC ENG  
Faculty – HHS Pruitt-Lord, Sonja 20-May 17-Dec SLHS  
Faculty – LIA Jarocki, Zoe 19-May 16-May LIA  
Faculty – PFSA Abdel-Samad, Mounah 20-May 11-Oct SPA  
Faculty – SCI Love, John 21-May 18-Sep BIOCHEM Sen
Faculty – IV Abarbanell, Linda 21-May 18-Sep IV Sen
Assistant Vice President for Educational Effectiveness/Div of Academic Engagement & Student Achievement Schellenberg, Stephen DAESA Sen
Assistant Dean/Div of Academic Engagement & Student Achievement Lopez, Michelle DAESA  
Vice President for Student Affairs (or designee) Samarkos, Christy


Director of Enrollment Services Cook, Sandra


Student – Undergraduate Johnson, Jada 19-May 18-Oct AS  
Student – Undergraduate Daggs, Dalton 19-May 18-Oct AS  


Undergraduate Council meets the 2nd Monday of the month, from 1 to 3 pm.